I held my breath (and dialed up the diplomacy a couple notches) and posted some of my thoughts about the comics so far over on Reddit. Matt replied. I feel better.
Oookay. That’s… Something. Though I would challenge the implication that Vex is inherently less brash or loud than anyone else. Kelyeth, maybe, around people she doesn’t know yet, but Vex is so much more than just a foil to Vax. Blegh.
Oh, I agree completely. There’s just something about the way the comic is written and framed that’s tilted a few of these scenes in Vax’s favor in a way that make Vex feel like the one who’s reacting, and the reactions are mostly snark. It’s subtle, but it’s there.
(Some of it’s visual as much as it is verbal. If he shows up first in the frame to do something, it feels like his scene. If we get a pointed reaction shot of him staring at Keyleth (thinking of the first issue here), it’s meant to be his perspective we’re paying attention to. Stuff like that. Also I might have been overthinking all of this at 4 in the morning when I couldn’t goddamn sleep. *wry look*)
Yeah, you’d think proper framing and POV bias would be something Colville as an author would be aware of. Then again, I think his novels are also exclusively from male POVs? The main reason I didn’t check them out when I started watching his videos…