Let us all take a moment to just remember and let it sink in and have it ready to throw at the horrible part of this fandom that Marisha just saved the campaign. Again. And got us all the weirdest, most confusingly sexy sequence of events as of yet.
Tag: cr spoilers
Also, I’m pretty sure that Taliesin assumes some family member of Percy is in that Death Knight armor, given how he reacted to that question last night. The topic of where the bodies went has come up on occasion, with Matt specifically saying that he knows where they are…
I mean, it would make more sense than Silas Briarwood suddenly attempting to conceal his identity. And seeing how Delilah was still, you know, a bit bitter about his passing away, I think it’s fair to say that Silas is gone for good. More ways to fuck with Percy, though? Totally something Matt would do.
Also, ever since episode 99 happened, I may or may not have actually started actively shipping Pikelan. What is happening. That was not the plan.
replied to your post “Oh god, so if Nothics collect secrets and knowledge about Vecna, what…”
Given what it was they may have dogged a bullet
A CR 2, save DC 12 bullet that is a mini-boss in the second dungeon to the starter set of this game that most of the characters could OHKO. I’d hazard a guess that the information the nothic had faaaaar, far outweighed the threat it posed.
Oh god, so if Nothics collect secrets and knowledge about Vecna, what are the chances Liam just killed their one opportunity to find out about a secret weakness of the guy? And that’s why Matt looked so… Is remorseful the right word to use? The other would be devastated, but that doesn’t quite fit.
Okay but Sam and everyone made that whole exchange look like so much fun and I kind of want one of my characters to get Love Potioned now just to see what would happen.
Tell me tumblr.com if your OC got charmed to fall ridiculously and hopelessly in love with the first person they saw for an hour what would happen?
My aasimar church choir bard Davara would proooobably first see the tiefling sorceress she is basically having a hardcore admiration crush on anyway… While also occasionally functioning as her handler in critical social situations. Their relationship is not exactly complicated, but layered. And considering how shy and sheltered she is, I don’t think her behavior would change much… If anything, she’d withdraw and blush quietly in a corner 😀
So last year I wasn’t in the fandom yet, but the episode that happened sooort of on my birthday because of timezones had Vex tell the tree fuckboy that her heart was someone else’s.
This year, the episode happens after it is my birthday in my timezone, and there are legitimate fears of everyone dying. Man, and I have a party to throw tomorrow, I don’t need that kind of drama in my life. But whenever I don’t watch, Scanlan returns, the twins die, or not, or kind of, Percy and Vex are engaged, or are actually not engaged… I’m scared to miss episodes by now is what I’m saying. And if I miss this one, something horrible is going to happen on my birthday, I can feeel it…
…Or there’s just a nice chat with some armors, maybe a god, and a shared crafting sessions. That. Could totally be a thing. And then Vasselheim falls and Vecna gets the horn of Orcus. Which admittedly would be one iconic birthday episode… Though Mercer might not walk out of the theater if that happens, given how live audiences are.
…rambling about this actually made it worse, dammit…
So someone just told me to shut up and behave like the people who yelled at Matt over twitter about something so much, he had to address it twice. So yeah, that’s totally what I’m going to do, but only after making two last points:
- On one hand, we have Matt telling us Scanlan spent his life travelling around, picking up knowledge and passing that on to others. On the other hand, we have Sam completely bamboozeled every time Scanlan is supposed to know anything about anything and telling us Scanlan spent his life touring with a band, performing music, trashing his patrons’ bedsheets, seducing people and making little Kaylies. We also have Scanlan lamenting the fact that he felt more like the storyteller instead of like part of the story. In comes Ioun telling him that he absolutely is the storyteller and that he should be the best storyteller he can be. How is that a satisfying conclusion to anything? I get that her words about how much he means to everyone were reaffirming and needed and honestly what the others should have been telling him ever since he got back, and how maybe that coming from a goddess of knowledge is especially reaffirming somehow.´- right while she kiiiind of invalidates the arc Scanlan at least tried to have outside of having a daughter.
- The whole champion issue aside, the fact still stands that the de Rolos died because they had an Ioun temple in their basement. At the place where Ioun was wounded. It would have been nice to at least get that addressed or acknowledged in some way. Instead, we get Ioun drawing a direct parallel between Percy and the guy who got his entire family killed. Oh, after she gave a moving speech about redemption, of course. I mean, if nothing else, rude. And Percy seeming unfazed by this doesn’t make it any less rude – it’s just what he expects to hear at this point anyway.
“The true death is being forgotten.”
Man, this Talks episode doesn’t just make me angrily vindicated, but also FEEL so much more about Percy’s elation at the books about people and with his family and stuff…
…Also, Keyleth fears forgetting everyone’s names, huh? Good thing SOMEONE had all of that set into stone like 50 episodes ago.
(Yes I am still salty. Even when proven right about things.)
(So do I write fanfiction or rant about how the whole thing where people draw parallels between Percy and the guy who had his family killed and hometown subjugated because they had an ioun temple in the basement and how gross it kind of is)
I still disagree with Matt on the choice of Scanlan as Ioun’s champion and that’s still fine – it’s not going to ruin my enjoyment of the arc and I’m interested to see where Percy and Keyleth are going with their “Meh, gods. Who needs em?” subplot.
But you know what I’m really grateful to Matt for that he explained last night on Talks Machina?
Ioun’s decision not to go with Percy had nothing to do with the guns. She understood keeping that a secret. She sympathized with that. According to Matt, that was a secret she was fine with (which, thankfully, removes any need to write that “hypocrite” essay because it turns out she’s not).
Basically what I’m saying is that everyone who sent me messages saying “You’re a moron, Ioun would never like Percy because he hoards the knowledge of guns for himself instead of spreading further knowledge of this deadly weapon,” can eat a godly dick.
Yeah, that makes it easier to stomach – and even sillier, because once the guns are out of the equation, Percy is no more or less secretive with his personal affairs than Scanlan was, and claiming that Scanlan spent his life spreading anything except exaggerated accounts of his own greatness kind of prove that this was more about what Matt thought a bard is SUPPOSED to be rather than what Scanlan actually is.
(Also I kind of wrote that hypocrite essay before this episode, so, uh, wheee?)
And people did send me messages, too… Wow, didn’t expect this to be the subject that touches so many nerves.