You know, when we found out Tary was a sheltered trust fund baby with no concept of how money and not having any works, he was everyone’s precious shiny sparkly son in a matter of two weeks.

I saw some people criticizing him over lording his wealth over the player character most obviously affected by spending most of her time in poverty, but it was never a big thing somehow. Instead, said player character was always called a greedy bitch for haggling down prices and caring about loot and amassing wealth, none of which she ever spent for herself until the year break (and even then Percy had to talk her into it).

And yet somehow, Caleb mentions he grew up in poverty once, and everyone’s ready to jump on his working class hero down with the burgeoise’s dick immediately and shame Jester for lashing out when she was upset. Stay classy, fandom. Stay fucking classy.

leiaorganawrites:

So let me get this clear. Last campaign when percy made a snobbish comment we called him charming – but now jester makes one and she’s ignorant and a hater of the working class? OH WELL.

This campaign we side with poor boy Caleb who (allegedly, because he’s a shady motherfucker and I don’t trust anything he says) grew up with little money and is very stingy about it.

Last campaign, Vex, who grew up in poverty before and after Syngorn and had to make ends meet while on the road with her brother for years, was the greediest bitch of the universe for trying to get the most out of their money and be careful about spending.

transchrishartley:

In regards to Jester and Caleb at the Tri-Spires:

Fandoms have an awful tendency to hate on female characters in general but especially when they do something the fandom dislikes to their male fave and let’s face it Caleb is a male fave. So before this gets out of control I have something to say.

Jester did not know what she was saying was hurtful to Caleb. She was expressing her feelings. Ones she is allowed to have. She is not used to living this way and she is not very self-sufficient. She is in a new and scary environment for her. To an outside observer it might look like she is being selfish and whiny but we have basically been given confirmation Jester is hiding a lot of how she feels under forced positivity. Jester has a right to feel upset. She has no one in the world to care for her anymore. Far as she knows she might not be able to count on her mother. This girl is also in danger because remember Jester is marked for death. She was basically rushed out on her in the span of one night. Her lifestyle has been disrupted and she has not been given the skills to handle that. She is scared and alone so she expressed that in a way that accidentally hurt Caleb.

In addition to all of this Jester grew up in isolation and we know for a fact she has terrible social skills. She has no filter, no manners and no tact because she never had to learn those skills. The best she has is her ability to con strangers (which is probably something she learned from her mother). She’s never had to hold her tongue so she didn’t think to do so. She said what was on her mind because she is going through a hard time and it upset Caleb.

AND she felt bad! She felt genuinely sorry to have hurt Caleb’s feelings. She tried to apologise and tell him she didn’t mean to insult him but he didn’t want to hear it (which is also well within his right as the injured party and as he was already in a bad mood). However Jester did try to make it right. Caleb doesn’t have to forgive her but we have to acknowledge that she tried.

Laura plays Jester beautifully as a young girl having to adjust to her new lot in life and while she tries to stay optomistic and happy sometimes the reality of her situation gets to her. Playing her character well means sometimes doing and saying things that on the outside seem quite cruel but Jester doesn’t know any better. Laura as her creator understands in some situations Jester is oblivious to what she is doing and why it is wrong.

Let’s be real, if the genders were reversed, people would be shitting on her for being careful with money and stingy about it like Caleb was here and to just let the other guy have fun with it.

Oh, wait, that already did happen with Vex the greediest bitch in the universe, whoops.

Hot take: If all it took for local government to allow anyone to kill Jester on sight was playing a prank on a noble, chances are her mom had good reasons to keep her locked away before then. Doesn’t make it any less tragic, but, you know. If that’s how people treat tieflings in Nikodramos, mommy had a point.

To weigh in on Nott’s actions vs “broomgate”

fkcoffee:

out-there-on-the-maroon:

dezenraghav:

I love Laura Bailey. I have the *harp music* extension. I think her presence as an internet famous girl gamer is so goddamn important and I’ve been lucky to have girls half as cool as her sit at my table, and I hope to god I get to play with more since this amazing hobby should be open to everyone and anyone.

However, I don’t think what Vex did felt “good.”

It felt like Vex stole the broom for her own uses. Nott is a goblin and has been shown to not understand societal norms of human+ society.

Shakaste essentially tells Nott that what she did was ok this time.

Nott stole for Caleb, who was likely one of the first people to treat her as more than “just a goblin” and her only real friend before joining the group. There’s a different of morality here and everything needs to be looked at in context. 

“an internet famous girl gamer”

“lucky to have girls

Laura Bailey is 36 years old. She’s a grown woman.

It’s kind of suspicious to go on a whole tangent over how much you love and respect “girl gamers” before talking about character actions, as if those two things are even remotely related. Why is Laura Bailey being a woman at all relevant to the morality behind stealing?

Besides, you seem to be completely disregarding Vex’s background for your shaky-at-best analysis. Nott and Vex have pretty similar backgrounds of growing up from poverty and shitty conditions, and both have a significant person in their life that mutually take care of each other. They both frequently steal for themselves and for the sake of their companion. One stole ALL of another character’s money, and the other stole a powerful magical item. It’s a reach to imply one was somehow more moral than the other.

Let me pile onto this saying Nott’s first instinct was to check whether the blind old man cleric helping them save people had stuff on him she could steal. Anything at all. And even though she might have come from poverty, with the additional gnoll ears and all that, it’s not like they’re particulary hurting for cash right now.

Vex stole the broom specifically, and because she wanted it to fly. She stole nothing else, tried to give Gern dragon scales as some form of exchange, had previous experience with how useful flight is in combat, especially at that point when they were going up against dragons. And came right off an arc dealing with evil necromancers.

I mean. Not trying to really make a judgement here, just stating facts. Also yes, calling a 36 year old woman a gamer girl is shady at best, and bringing up that fact at all when you’re trying to argue the morality of stealing in a D&D game is… Suspicious.